the fourth estate

the fourth estate

the press

the profession of journalism

The three traditional Estates of the Realm (the Crown, the House of Lords and the House of Commons) are now viewed as having been joined by the press which is regarded as having equal power. As early as 1843 Lord Macaulay stated…The gallery in which the reporters sit has become a fourth estate of the realm.

In INDIA, the other three estates are Legislature, Executive and Judiciary.

the fourth estate :

the fourth estate To HOME PAGE

Idioms Index – Previous Page

Related Links : the fourth estate